Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks

Donald X. Vaccarino (designer of Dominion):

“I am changing some rules and errata-ing some cards. And this post is telling you all about it.

The reasons behind these changes are:

  • It’s possible for two copies of a card to have different abilities. This causes problems, the worst (extremely exotic) situation being, you play a card and don’t actually know what it should do. The cards that do this are also confusing in general.
  • There are cases where card interactions fail in an unintuitive way, due to it mattering if cards in a discard pile are covered up.
  • Two minor rules clarify things a little and simplify texts a little, and are just coming along for the ride.

These changes will be implemented in the online program soon, and are effective now. Of course if you are playing irl you may not know about them, or may choose to do whatever you choose to do. These are changes for the better though, and I recommend using them.”

Errata

Eight cards are getting errata. Four are “shapeshifters” – they can change what they are, or what something else is. These create lots of rules questions and a few problems, and are switching to be like Captain and Necromancer – they’ll play a card instead of becoming the card. Three are one-shots that would behave differently with the shapeshifters; they’re changing to be more like they previously were, though this will change how they work in some other situations (e.g. with Necromancer and Captain). And then Procession is getting rid of the tracking problem introduced when the Throne/Duration rule changed a few years ago.

Someday those expansions will get printed again, and will have the new wordings, with FAQs to go with them. You can play with them right now though, through the magic of knowing about them.

New card texts

Band of Misfits: Action, $5
Play an Action card from the Supply that costs less than this, leaving it there.

Overlord: Action, 8D
Play an Action card from the Supply costing up to $5, leaving it there.

Inheritance: Event, $7
Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with “Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.”)

Lantern: Artifact
Border Guards you play reveal 3 cards and discard 2. (It takes all 3 being Actions to take the Horn.)

Death Cart: Action – Looter, $4
You may trash this or an Action card from your hand, for +$5.
———-
When you gain this, gain 2 Ruins.

Pillage: Action – Attack, $5
Trash this. If you did, gain 2 Spoils, and each other player with 5 or more cards in hand reveals their hand and discards a card that you choose.

Embargo: Action, $2
+$2
Trash this. If you did, add an Embargo token to a Supply pile. (For the rest of the game, when a player buys a card from that pile, they gain a Curse.)

Procession: Action, $4
You may play a non-Duration Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactly $1 more than it.

Tracking for the former shapeshifters

Some cards, like the new Band of Misfits, can play a card that isn’t put into play. When you play Band of Misfits, leave it in play as long as you would have left the card it plays in play. Normally that will be the same turn’s Clean-up. For a Band of Misfits playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the last turn the Duration card has any effects. For a Band of Misfits playing a Throne Room playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the turn the Duration card leaves play. For a Band of Misfits playing a card that can move itself from play, like Mining Village, the Mining Village can’t move itself, so Band of Misfits doesn’t leave play any earlier than normal. If a Band of Misfits plays multiple Duration cards (e.g., you used Throne Room on it), leave it out until the Clean-up of the last turn that one of them still had effects.

These rules apply to all of the cards that play cards without putting them into play: currently, Band of Misfits, Overlord, Inheritance, Necromancer, and Captain.

The new lose-track rule, now stop-moving, and getting things from your discard pile

Sometimes, the game wants you to not move a card further. I used to call this lose-track, because it existed due to situations where you’d really lose track of the card. But mostly you know right where the card is, so now I am calling it the stop-moving rule. And it’s changing too, as follows.

The stop-moving rule: An effect can move a card if it specifies where the card is coming from, or if the effect put the card where it is now. If a card isn’t where the effect would expect it to be, it can’t move the card. Played cards expect to be in play; they can’t move themselves if they aren’t. Gained cards are expected to be where they were gained to, even if this isn’t the discard pile. Cards in discard piles can be moved even if covered up by other cards; cards on top of a deck can’t be moved once covered up.

Additionally, when you are told to get a card from your discard pile, you can look through it to get the card. That’s just implicit. You don’t have to just look at the top couple of cards, you can look through the whole discard pile.

The main change here is that previously you’d lose track of something if it were covered up in your discard pile, and now you don’t. So for example if you Replace an Estate into Skulk, previously you would lose track of the Skulk when you gained a Gold and covered it up, but now you won’t, you will put the Skulk onto your deck.

You can gain non-Supply cards when called out

When a card tells you to gain a non-Supply card by name, you can gain it from its pile, even though it’s not in the Supply.

This is just letting me drop “from its pile” from those cards, which wasn’t a great way to make it clear that you really get to gain them.

Costs don’t go below $0

The cost in $ of a card can’t go below $0. The cost in [potion] of a card can’t go below 0 [potion]; the cost in [debt] of a card can’t go below 0 [debt].

This is something that cards like Bridge have said; now it’s just a rule, and covers the potion and debt cases since people ask. What does Vineyard cost with a Highway in play? Same as without it – zero coins, one potion, and zero debt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks

  1. Anonymous says:

    “You can gain non-Supply cards when called out”

    Does this mean I get a Madman even if I got the Hermit from the Black Market?

    Does this have any effect on Travelers purchased from the Black Market?

  2. SkippyPDX says:

    “You can gain non-Supply cards when called out”

    Does this mean I get a Madman even if I got the Hermit from the Black Market?

    Does this have any effect on Travelers purchased from the Black Market?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s