Intrigue Card List

Individual analyses of Intrigue cards are linked below and also collected here.

Courtyard Action $2 +3 Cards
Put a card from your hand onto your deck.
Lurker Action $2 +1 Action
Choose one: Trash an Action card from the Supply; or gain an Action card from the trash.
Pawn Action $2 Choose two: +1 Card; +1 Action; +1 Buy; +$1. The choices must be different.
Masquerade Action $3 +2 Cards
Each player with any cards in hand passes one to the next such player to their left, at once. Then you may trash a card from your hand.
Shanty Town Action $3 +2 Actions
Reveal your hand. If you have no Action cards in hand, +2 Cards.
Steward Action $3 Choose one: +2 Cards; or +$2; or trash 2 cards from your hand.
Swindler Action – Attack $3 +$2
Each other player trashes the top card of their deck and gains a card with the same cost that you choose.
Wishing Well Action $3 +1 Card; +1 Action
Name a card, then reveal the top card of your deck. If you name it, put it in your hand.
Baron Action $4 +1 Buy
You may discard an Estate for +$4. If you don’t gain an Estate.
Bridge Action $4 +1 Buy
+$1
This turn, cards (everywhere) cost $1 less, but not less than $0.
Conspirator Action $4 +$2
If you’ve played 3 or more Actions this turn (counting this), +1 Card and +1 Action.
Diplomat Action – Reaction $4 +2 Cards
If you have 5 or fewer cards in hand (after drawing), +2 Actions.
———-
When another player plays an Attack card, you may reveal this from a hand of 5 or more cards, to draw 2 cards then discard 3.
Ironworks Action $4 Gain a card costing up to $4. If the gained card is an…
Action card, +1 Action
Treasure card, +$1
Victory card, +1 Card
Mill Action – Victory $4 +1 Card
+1 Action
You may discard 2 cards, for +$2.
———-
1 VP
Mining Village Action $4 +1 Card
+2 Actions
You may trash this for +$2.
Secret Passage Action $4 +2 Cards
+1 Action
Take a card from your hand and put it anywhere in your deck.
Courtier Action $5 Reveal a card from your hand. For each type it has (Action, Attack, etc.), choose one: +1 Action; or +1 Buy; or +$3; or gain a Gold. The choices must be different.
Duke Victory $5 Worth 1 Victory Point per Duchy you have.
Minion Action – Attack $5 +1 Action
Choose one: +$2; or discard your hand, +4 Cards, and each other player with at least 5 cards in hand discards their hand and draws 4 cards.
Patrol Action $5 +3 Cards
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck. Put the Victory cards and Curses into your hand. Put the rest back in any order.
Replace Action – Attack $5 Trash a card from your hand. Gain a card costing up to $2 more than it. If the gained card is an Action or Treasure, put it onto your deck; if it’s a Victory card, each other player gains a Curse.
Torturer Action – Attack $5 +3 Cards
Each other player either discards 2 cards or gains a Curse to their hand, their choice. (They may pick an option they can’t do.)
Trading Post Action $5 Trash 2 cards from your hand. If you did, gain a Silver to your hand.
Upgrade Action $5 +1 Card
+1 Action
Trash a card from your hand. Gain a card costing exactly $1 more than it.
Harem Treasure – Victory $6 $2
———-
2 Victory Points
Nobles Action – Victory $6 Choose one: +3 Cards; or +2 Actions.
———-
2 Victory Points

Cards Removed From Intrigue 1st Edition

Secret Chamber Action – Reaction $2 Discard any number of cards. +$1 per card discarded.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may reveal this from your hand. If you do, +2 cards, then put 2 cards from your hand on top of your deck.
Great Hall Action – Victory $3 1 Victory Point
+1 Card; +1 Action.
Coppersmith Action $4 Copper produces an extra $1 this turn.
Scout Action $4 +1 Action
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck. Put the revealed Victory cards into your hand. Put the other cards on top of your deck in any order.
Saboteur Action – Attack $5 Each other player reveals cards from the top of his deck until revealing one costing $3 or more. He trashes that card and may gain a card costing at most $2 less than it. He discards the other revealed cards.
Tribute Action $5 The player to your left reveals then discards the top 2 cards of his deck. For each differently named card revealed, if it is an… Action Card; +2 Actions; Treasure Card; +$2; Victory Card; +2 Cards.

 

Advertisements

30 Responses to Intrigue Card List

  1. What function does the Scout have? How is Victory cards in your hand gonna help?

    • Reyk says:

      First of all it will improve your next move.
      Estates in hand might be good with Baron.
      Province in hand might be good with Tournament, Explorer.
      Nobles, Harem might be good anyway.
      Green cards might be good for Warehouse, Cellar or early on for Ambassador.
      Plus you know the other cards for some synergy for instance with Wishing Well.
      Nevertheless Scout’s use is limited to certain situations.

      • bonedocmtgs says:

        Is also works well with things like Inn

      • Trogdor the Burninator says:

        It is kind of a liability in Swindler games though, as the cards you revealed with Scout are ready to be picked off with opponents Swindler’s and traded for unneeded junk

        • WheresMyElephant says:

          No, the cards Scout puts back will be drawn into your new hand at the end of your turn. Your opponent’s Swindler never gets a shot at them. The same goes for better sifters like Cartographer or Navigator.

          Cards like Scheme, Alchemist, Inn, or Herald could potentially topdeck six or more cards, so this sort of issue can come up. (Although when used in moderation, these cards COUNTER trashing attacks for exactly this reason: they keep some of your good cards safe in your hand where they can’t be trashed.)

    • Cranky says:

      It can be good for pulling Harem’s into your hand for their buying power, as well as Nobles and Great Halls.

    • MrBawn says:

      You are allowed to put the non-victories back in any order. Rearranging the top of your deck can be helpful if you have draw actions in your hand. Bury an action under two treasures and play a terminal draw. Play a Spy and know that you will draw a Gold and discard a Copper. I’ve also used Scout with Loan and Venture to ensure that neither one discards a good action and to ensure that Loan trashes a Copper or that Venture hits a Gold.

    • Throckmorton says:

      I like scout only if you have Great Halls on the board. Load up on great halls and 3 or 4 scouts through the midgame, then when you play scout, you move the GHs to your hand and use them immediately to draw the other cards that you just put back in your chosen order. This engine can win fast just with the GHs and buying out the scouts and one other pile. Steward helps, then later is +$2. Village adds gold and +buy so you can grab two GHs sometimes. It worked for me last night, but as always IDOTCTAO. (it depends on the cards that are out).

    • Kevin McWilliams says:

      Scout depends on the game, it’s useful in games with Action-Victory or Victory-Treasure kingdoms. I also find it really useful to have a few when playing a duke strategy, as you can find yourself full of duchies pretty quick.

    • George Locke says:

      For most boards, it just clears dead cards out of your next turn. However, it’s really, really bad at this, its one function, so it’s best ignored. In principle, it also has synergies with multi-type victory cards (harem, nobles), but again, this is a very unreliable effect and you ought to be able to do better with your $4 on just about any board.

    • DewClub says:

      YOu dont draw them next turn

    • goblinmob says:

      that way you don’t draw them next turn… only draw good cards or something! 🙂

    • Anonymous says:

      If you are able to get your victory cards on your hand though a card such as scout, it will allow your next hand to be significantly better. It would also pair well in card combos such as if you were to play cellar where you could discard those victory cards or expand where you would trash a victory card for a better one

    • Anonymous says:

      Since you’ll be drawing it now, it should set you up a good hand for next turn too since it will already eliminate 4 victory cards when you cleanup this turn.

  2. Regarding the Ironworks card. What if I get another Ironworks this way? Can I play it immediately to get all 10 cards, or is a card not playable the same round you get it?

    • Reyk says:

      You can’t play it immediately, because its in your discard pile. This is the default rule for gained cards. Exceptions – for example Mine – are stated on the card text.

  3. The Bridge effect is instant, right? The opponents won’t get lowered prices as well.

    • thisisnotasmile says:

      The Bridge effect lasts from the moment you play the card until the moment it is removed from play during the cleanup phase of your turn. i.e. it lasts for “this turn” just like it says on the card.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Another use for is to playing a crossroads afterwards which give you a +1 card for every victory card in your hand, which if used with multiple scouts, can be a big number of cards.

  5. bonedocmtg says:

    Could we maybe get a feature for Secret Chamber?

  6. sac hermes says:

    Please let me know if youre looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, Id really like to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thank you!

    • WheresMyElephant says:

      I don’t know about promoting your blog, but if you want to write articles you should post on the “Articles” subforum of the DS forums. These days a lot of the front page articles are chosen from there.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Minion has a semicolon where a comma should be, which messes up the meaning.

  8. Trogdor the Burninator says:

    Could there be an article for Coppersmith please?
    Thanks

    • Coppersmith is pretty simple: when you play it, every copper in your hand gives two coins instead of one. This could be useful fairly often if you stock up on coppers, however I only use it early game as I trash my coppers afterwards.

    • Beowulf Validus says:

      Coppersmith is pretty simple: when you play it, every copper in your hand gives two coins instead of one. This could be useful fairly often if you stock up on coppers, however I only use it early game as I trash my coppers ASAP. (Sorry if this is a double post, having WP issues over here.)

  9. Beowulf Validus says:

    We’re arguing over how exactly the Tribute works: If the player to my left reveals two “different” action cards (e.g. Torturer and Village), do I get +4 actions? or only +2?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s