Intrigue Card List

Individual analyses of Intrigue cards are linked below and also collected here.

Courtyard Action $2 +3 Cards
Put a card from your hand on top of your deck.
Pawn Action $2 Choose two: +1 Card; +1 Action; +1 Buy; +$1.
(The choices must be different.)
Secret Chamber Action – Reaction $2 Discard any number of cards. +$1 per card discarded.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may reveal this from your hand. If you do, +2 cards, then put 2 cards from your hand on top of your deck.
Great Hall Action – Victory $3 1 Victory Point
+1 Card; +1 Action.
Masquerade Action $3 +2 Cards
Each player passes a card in their hand to the player on their left. You may trash a card from your hand.
Shanty Town Action $3 +2 Actions
Reveal your hand.  If you have no Action cards in hand, +2 Cards.
Steward Action $3 Choose one: +2 Cards; or +$2; or trash 2 cards from your hand.
Swindler Action – Attack $3 +$2
Each other player trashes the top card of his deck and gains a card with the same cost that you choose.
Wishing Well Action $3 +1 Card; +1 Action
Name a card, then reveal the top card of your deck. If it is the named card, put it in your hand.
Baron Action $4 +1 Buy
You may discard an Estate card. If you do, +$4.  Otherwise, gain an Estate card.
Bridge Action $4 +1 Buy; +$1
All cards (including cards in players’ hands) cost $1 less this turn, but not less than $0.
Conspirator Action $4 +$2
If you’ve played 3 or more Actions this turn (counting this): +1 Card; +1 Action.
Coppersmith Action $4 Copper produces an extra $1 this turn.
Ironworks Action $4 Gain a card costing up to $4. If it is an… Action card, +1 Action. Treasure card, +$1. Victory card, +1 Card.
Mining Village Action $4 +1 Card; +2 Actions
You may trash this card immediately. If you do, +$2.
Scout Action $4 +1 Action
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck. Put the revealed Victory cards into your hand. Put the other cards on top of your deck in any order.
Duke Victory $5 Worth 1 Victory Point per Duchy you have.
Minion Action – Attack $5 +1 Action
Choose one: +$2; or discard your hand, +4 Cards, and each other player with at least 5 cards in hand discards his hand and draws 4 cards.
Saboteur Action – Attack $5 Each other player reveals cards from the top of his deck until revealing one costing $3 or more. He trashes that card and may gain a card costing at most $2 less than it. He discards the other revealed cards.
Torturer Action – Attack $5 +3 Cards
Each other player chooses one: he discards 2 cards; or he gains a Curse card, putting it in his hand.
Trading Post Action $5 Trash 2 cards from your hand. If you do, gain a silver card; put it into your hand.
Tribute Action $5 The player to your left reveals then discards the top 2 cards of his deck. For each differently named card revealed, if it is an… Action Card; +2 Actions; Treasure Card; +$2; Victory Card; +2 Cards.
Upgrade Action $5 +1 Card; +1 Action
Trash a card from your hand. Gain a card costing exactly $1 more than it.
Harem Treasure – Victory $6 Worth $2
2 Victory Points
Nobles Action – Victory $6 2 Victory Points
Choose one: +3 Cards; or +2 Actions.

23 Responses to Intrigue Card List

  1. What function does the Scout have? How is Victory cards in your hand gonna help?

    • Reyk says:

      First of all it will improve your next move.
      Estates in hand might be good with Baron.
      Province in hand might be good with Tournament, Explorer.
      Nobles, Harem might be good anyway.
      Green cards might be good for Warehouse, Cellar or early on for Ambassador.
      Plus you know the other cards for some synergy for instance with Wishing Well.
      Nevertheless Scout’s use is limited to certain situations.

      • bonedocmtgs says:

        Is also works well with things like Inn

      • Trogdor the Burninator says:

        It is kind of a liability in Swindler games though, as the cards you revealed with Scout are ready to be picked off with opponents Swindler’s and traded for unneeded junk

        • WheresMyElephant says:

          No, the cards Scout puts back will be drawn into your new hand at the end of your turn. Your opponent’s Swindler never gets a shot at them. The same goes for better sifters like Cartographer or Navigator.

          Cards like Scheme, Alchemist, Inn, or Herald could potentially topdeck six or more cards, so this sort of issue can come up. (Although when used in moderation, these cards COUNTER trashing attacks for exactly this reason: they keep some of your good cards safe in your hand where they can’t be trashed.)

    • Cranky says:

      It can be good for pulling Harem’s into your hand for their buying power, as well as Nobles and Great Halls.

    • MrBawn says:

      You are allowed to put the non-victories back in any order. Rearranging the top of your deck can be helpful if you have draw actions in your hand. Bury an action under two treasures and play a terminal draw. Play a Spy and know that you will draw a Gold and discard a Copper. I’ve also used Scout with Loan and Venture to ensure that neither one discards a good action and to ensure that Loan trashes a Copper or that Venture hits a Gold.

    • Throckmorton says:

      I like scout only if you have Great Halls on the board. Load up on great halls and 3 or 4 scouts through the midgame, then when you play scout, you move the GHs to your hand and use them immediately to draw the other cards that you just put back in your chosen order. This engine can win fast just with the GHs and buying out the scouts and one other pile. Steward helps, then later is +$2. Village adds gold and +buy so you can grab two GHs sometimes. It worked for me last night, but as always IDOTCTAO. (it depends on the cards that are out).

    • Kevin McWilliams says:

      Scout depends on the game, it’s useful in games with Action-Victory or Victory-Treasure kingdoms. I also find it really useful to have a few when playing a duke strategy, as you can find yourself full of duchies pretty quick.

    • George Locke says:

      For most boards, it just clears dead cards out of your next turn. However, it’s really, really bad at this, its one function, so it’s best ignored. In principle, it also has synergies with multi-type victory cards (harem, nobles), but again, this is a very unreliable effect and you ought to be able to do better with your $4 on just about any board.

    • DewClub says:

      YOu dont draw them next turn

    • goblinmob says:

      that way you don’t draw them next turn… only draw good cards or something! :)

  2. Regarding the Ironworks card. What if I get another Ironworks this way? Can I play it immediately to get all 10 cards, or is a card not playable the same round you get it?

    • Reyk says:

      You can’t play it immediately, because its in your discard pile. This is the default rule for gained cards. Exceptions – for example Mine – are stated on the card text.

  3. The Bridge effect is instant, right? The opponents won’t get lowered prices as well.

    • thisisnotasmile says:

      The Bridge effect lasts from the moment you play the card until the moment it is removed from play during the cleanup phase of your turn. i.e. it lasts for “this turn” just like it says on the card.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Another use for is to playing a crossroads afterwards which give you a +1 card for every victory card in your hand, which if used with multiple scouts, can be a big number of cards.

  5. bonedocmtg says:

    Could we maybe get a feature for Secret Chamber?

  6. sac hermes says:

    Please let me know if youre looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, Id really like to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thank you!

    • WheresMyElephant says:

      I don’t know about promoting your blog, but if you want to write articles you should post on the “Articles” subforum of the DS forums. These days a lot of the front page articles are chosen from there.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Minion has a semicolon where a comma should be, which messes up the meaning.

  8. Trogdor the Burninator says:

    Could there be an article for Coppersmith please?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s